Spring is here.

Haru Meku

Haru meku – signs of spring.

This was fun to make – the first blossom I’ve seen this year, plucked fresh from a tree on Brudenell road, scanned in and scribbled on.  Through searching for the Japanese for ‘spring’ on Google, I was directed via Wikipedia to a page on Kigo, a term loosely meaning ‘relating to the seasons’, attached most notably to Japanese poetry.  In finding this page I was reminded of the calming effect Japanese art regularly has on me (simplistic, un-romantically romantic, natural imagery makes me feel happily human), and realised that this is something I should probably be more actively including in my day-to-day.  I may do more of these illustrations in the future, for my sanity as much as anything else, but also to supplement my Nihongo studies and incorporate them more easily into my practices.

Leave a Reply

