How I will look all professional and appealing: Applying marketing to my own fleshy self

Barbara Kruger

In a bid to motivate myself to produce something, I have adopted the mentality of taking each piece of work, each drawing or animation or what-ever, and considering it as one segment of my overall portfolio.  I am thinking on how I want my portfolio to speak, how I want to be putting myself across to potential employers after this degree.  I believe that – while this may not sound much like a creative’s way of working (or maybe this is how everyone does it?) – this method may help me to focus, not just on producing work, but on producing work that corresponds absolutely with my ideals and personality.  It may just help me to define who I am as I approach the yawning chasm that lies at the end of third year.  I may be swallowed up into the hopeless night of unemployment, scrabble desperately for work and money, and eventually lose sight of the person I know as me, and if nothing else, a good-quality portfolio made in the next year-and-a-bit may serve as a reminder of the person I was at this time: what I thought of, what I dwelt on, what I believed in, what I hoped for.  Self-assurance, this is an attractive quality.

After finding this website (a visual accompaniment to ‘The Beast’, a song by Laura Marling), I have become quite interested in this scroll-down animated format.  I especially liked the scribbled, scratching background viewed through cut-out shapes.  I endeavoured to find out how I might acquire this skill in web design, while also looking at aesthetics of other websites that appeal to me.

I want to display some skill in drawing, which means doing a lot more drawing for one thing, but I found that the websites that had hand-drawn aspects to be the most impressive, the most persuasive in saying ‘This person is great at drawing’.  Makes sense, no?  This page for Japanese manga artist Inoue Takehiko is beautiful and simple to begin with, but then descends into a chaos I can’t decipher when you explore too far…  But just look at the subtle touch of animation when you hover over his name!  And he offers to scroll you back to the top of each page!  So much good, clean fun.

pagetop_o

Though this site for aritst Suwa Sayaka is less impressive in cute little touches than the last, I think the opening page is super-effective!  It says almost all that needs to be said. index

Exploring what has already been done with scroll-down animated sites led me down a sullen path of brightly-coloured, round-edged, smooth creatures – like cars and shit.  The technique is cool, it has been used very effectively to promote and sell many things (one of which being BP’s shambles of a reputation), but y’know, some things suck and shouldn’t be promoted or sold.  So, I was thinking, if I made my own site that had these scroll-down-to-receive-revelation qualities, the site itself would be a display a set of skills that would be appealing to prospective employers/friends.

This one is particularly effective in its use of one central focal point to carry the audience through the world within the webpage.  We ‘dive down’ with the droplet, and experience a kind of guided tour of the Dangers of Fracking.

fracking

So it seems I will just need to watch a few tutorials pertaining to JavaScript and how I might get inside it and mess it around a bit to suit my wants.  We are scheduled to have a CSS workshop with Annabeth in Maytime if I remember correctly, which should be extremely helpful in getting onto and into the digital structure of things.  I am looking forward to that more than I thought I would.

I found this self-acknowledging tutorial on making scrolling animation, which is alright maybe for someone who understands these things.  Things as they are, I do not.

On a side note, I have been signing up to and utilsing Twitter, LinkedIn and momentarily, AnimationBase, but the only thing I learn from joining these sites is that I simply need to have a showreel/online portfolio of some kind, as my profiles are very unimpressive to date.  I want this self-promotion jazz to go well, but without having content to back up my profiles, I will end up flat on my face and hungry.

One thought on “How I will look all professional and appealing: Applying marketing to my own fleshy self

  1. Pingback: Business | Personal and Professional Practice

Leave a Reply

